The Taxpayers Against Fraud Education Fund is a public interest non-profit dedicated to fighting fraud against the government by incentivizing integrity. Through public-private partnerships, TAFEF advances the effectiveness of the False Claims Act and federal whistleblower programs to promote and protect the efficient use of taxpayer dollars. Since 1986, the “Lincoln Law” has recovered over $56 billion in taxpayers dollars. We are supported by our 400+ membership of experienced litigators and by donations from foundation grants, successful whistleblowers, and citizen advocates. TAFEF is the 501(c)(3) arm of Taxpayers Against Fraud, which was founded in 1986.

Specifically, TAFEF works to:

  • Educate the public, the legal community, government officials, advocacy organizations and the press about the process, history and impact of whistleblower lawsuits filed under federal and state False Claims Acts and the SEC, CFTC, and IRS whistleblower programs
  • Advance public and government support for whistleblower cases through increased transparency
  • Empower and advocate on behalf of whistleblower attorneys to ensure the proper interpretation of the False Claims Act and other laws
  • Promote the success and living legacy of whistleblower programs

Our Staff

Robert Patten, President and Chief Executive Officer


Robert Patten is Chief Executive Officer of Taxpayers Against Fraud and the TAF Education Fund (TAFEF).  Robert joined TAFEF after serving for 21 years as an Assistant Attorney General for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, including 17 years in the Medicaid Fraud Control Unit.  As Managing Attorney in the Medicaid Fraud Division, he was responsible for the evaluation, investigation and litigation of civil and criminal health care fraud cases and the coordination of state-federal and multi-state investigations, and he mentored and supervised 13 Assistant Attorneys General in false claims practice.

Robert also served from 2008 to 2017 as co-chair of the Global Case Committee of the National Association of Medicaid Fraud Control Units. In that position, he was responsible for the evaluation of multi-state cases, the training of state law enforcement personnel, and the coordination of investigations with the United States Department of Justice, United States Attorneys’ Offices, the Inspector General’s Office of the United States Department of Health and Human Services, and the offices of state Attorneys General nationwide.  He also served as team leader and principal negotiator on behalf of the states in numerous national false claims investigations and settlements.

Phone: 202-296-4826 ext. 1000
Email Robert Patten (

Jacklyn DeMar, Attorney & Director of Legal Education


Jacklyn DeMar is the Director of Legal Education at Taxpayers Against Fraud Education Fund, where she began as the staff attorney in August of 2014.  In her capacity as Director of Legal Education, Jacklyn works with whistleblowers, their counsel, and government attorneys on various False Claims Act matters, as well as matters involving the IRS, SEC, and CFTC whistleblower programs.  She files amicus curiae briefs in federal courts across the country – including the U.S. Supreme Court – and serves as editor-in-chief of TAFEF’s legal periodical, the False Claims Act & Qui Tam Quarterly Review.  She is also responsible for coordinating the TAFEF Annual Conference, the nation’s largest annual False Claims Act conference.

Jacklyn has focused on False Claims Act and other fraud practice for most of her career, since graduating cum laude from American University’s Washington College of Law in 2009.  She has experience practicing at large Washington D.C. firms, as well as ample experience in the e-Discovery field from her experience working for one of the largest e-Discovery providers in the United States.  She is a member of the Maryland and D.C. bars.

Phone: 202-296-4826 ext. 1300
Email Jacklyn DeMar (

Takeia Garner-Kiett, Director of Membership Service & H.R. Manager


Takeia Garner-Kiett joined Taxpayers Against Fraud Education Fund (TAFEF) in February of 2005 with a background in the Legal and Nonprofit fields and a specific expertise in association management and conference planning. Takeia is currently TAFEF’s Director of Membership Services & HR Manager, responsible for managing the day-to-day activities of the organization, including human resources, benefits, payroll administration, finances, risk management, accounts receivable and payable, endowment and funding operations, as well as acting as one of the liaisons between the staff and the Board of Directors. Takeia also manages the membership side of the organization and plays an integral part in all member-related initiatives such as conference planning,  database management and fielding member inquiries. Takeia earned her Bachelor of Arts from the University of Maryland, University Collage and lives in Maryland with her husband, two children and feisty beagle.

Phone: 202-296-4826 ext. 1400
Email Takeia Garner-Kiett (

James King, Communications & Digital Specialist

James King is the Communications & Digital Specialist, where he manages TAFEF’s website, communication strategy, and digital content. Prior to joining TAFEF, James worked at Indivisible, the Center for American Progress, Every Voice, and on President Obama’s 2012 campaign. James earned his Master’s in Political Management from the George Washington University in 2015 and a Bachelor’s in Political Science from Kent State University in 2013.

Phone: 202-296-4826 ext. 1500
Email James King (

Yoo Jung Hah, Public Interest Advocacy Fellow

Yoo Jung Hah is the Public Interest Advocacy Fellow, where she drafts the False Claims Act biweekly summaries and updates the organization’s online legal database. Before joining the TAF, Yoo Jung interned at education non-profit organizations in the City of Chicago. Yoo Jung earned her MA in Social Sciences and her BA in History from the University of Chicago in 2019. She is hoping to attend a law school in the fall of 2020.

Phone: 202-296-4826 ext. 1600
Email Yoo Jung Hah (

Our Board:

  • Neil Getnick, Chairman
  • Jim Breen
  • T. Mark Jones
  • Erika Kelton
  • Cheryl Meads
  • John Phillips
  • Peggy Richardson
  • Shelley Slade
  • Linda Sundro

President’s Council:

  • Kenneth Nolan, Chairman
  • Jim Breen
  • Neil Getnick
  • Glenn Grossenbacher
  • James Helmer
  • Erika Kelton
  • Scott Powell
  • Shelley Slade
  • Jennifer Verkamp
  • Jeb White

Whistleblower Board of Advisors:

  • Cheryl Meads
  • David Barbetta
  • Dinesh Thakur